previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

I think good years come in cycles. I know that the fish and game people would applaud this. But, before I start talking game tags and spawning cycles let me explain: the year 1992 was particulary an amazing year which stood out in my memory.

1992

- I turned 16

- began my first real job washing dishes at Preswtich Farms (I'm still reeling from the encurred trauma)

- I met Andrea Patch which altered the lives of many. Because of that encounter Chris met and eventually married Morgan Lhorke, we met Morag McCloud, and were placed in the crossroads of familiar acquantances of people who would pop up randomly and not for the next ten years ie, Regan Marshall, Cindi (I sat next to her this year at the Cowboy Junkies concert) Whitney, whom I've also run into on SEVERAL occasions. Meeting Andrea also changed Reed's life for he began a serious relationship with Andrea quickly after we broke up (no hard feelings) which lasted for three years and ended in death threats and voodoo dolls.

-Much of my current style and taste originated from that summer with Andrea, Morgan, Morag, et al. I was introduced to James, The Trashcan Sinatras, and Wynton Marsallis.

-It was a magical and enchanting downtown-Provo summer.

-I began to play in the jazz band at Mountain View High School

-I got in my first and only fight (it consisted of a big wrestler picking on me, me clocking him in the mouth, then dancing around like a balerina, careful to avoid his nethandreal hands and slow motion punches until someone came and broke up the fight--he didn't touch me).

-I learned to drive, joint-inhereted with Chris "The Malibu," a paint-eroded, chevrolet station wagon. It had a V6 engine, AM, and was plastered with The Smiths stickers.

Good year.

It is hard to believe that it has been 10 years later. This year was another branding year, one that I'll remember for a long time, a watershed year.

2002

-Courtney Jean and Ian, captains in our war waged with Nedra.

-Jason Dirtchee

-Malissa

-I began to to teach yoga

-Bryan Kest (twice)

-Alpine Yoga

-D'ana, Aliza, Martha, Kim

-Malissa and Jazz

-The S.P. Coltrain Jazz Combo

-Brig, Mitch, Al, Jeremy, April

-Recording: Key Fussion nightmare and First Take. The CD comes to life.

-The prison gig

-Bela Fleck, Cowboy Junkies, Inigo Girls

-Seatle, the Bertrands, Fog and Ferries.

-Island Lake

-Grandpa's 90th

_Lake Tahoe

-San Fran (twice)

-Raw food

-The cleanse

-Jack=selling the Pontiac and Babar

-Ryan and Juice and Java

-5 and 10 mile race

-Korea

-Jake Elison, Darrin Wells, Ryan Jensen

-Graduated from college

-Winner of the Elsie C. Carrol essay award

-Inscape escaping me

-Feast of Foodways

_Leslie Norris

-Shakespeare

-Gloria Cronin and Toni Morrison

-Kris Delmhorst

-Jonatha Brook

-Kate Rushby

-Eva Cassidy

Regardless of all this that has happened, much of what I experenced this year, what occupies such a majority of my mind, was books, books, books. Here is a list (I think its complete) of the books I read and that occupied my mind this year:

Tender at the Bone: Growing Up at the Table--Ruth Reichl

Rooted in America--David Scofield

Like Water for Chocolate--Laura Esquivel

Moby Dick--Melville

Treasue of the Sierra Madre--B. Traven

Edgar Allen Poe (everything)

Death In Venice--Thomas Mann

Turn of the Screw--Henry James

The Natural--Malamud

The Great Gatsby--F. Scott Fitzgerald

All The Pretty Horses--Cormac McCarthy

Wuthering Heights--Emily Bronte

Cold Mountain-Charles Frazier

In the Time of Butterflies--Julia Alvarez

Report on the Last Miracle at Little No Horse--Louise Erdrich

Jazz--Toni Morrison

The English Patient--Michael Ondaatje

Mumbo Jumbo--Ishmael Reed

The Crossing--Cormac McCarthy

The House on Mango Street--Sandra Cisneros

From Puratan to Postmodernism

The Little Prince (in French and English)

Big Trouble--Dave Barry

Toni Morrison:

-The Blues Eye

-Tar Baby

-Sula

-Song of Solomon

-Jazz

-Paradise

-Beloved

Shakespeare:

-Romeo and Juliet

-Macbeth

-Othello

-King Lear

-Hamlet

Good year.

A Good Year--Scottro [2003-01-06]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]