previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

My first appointment with Terry. We talked about my family dynamic, growing up.

I told her about some of my first childhood dreams and memories. Like my very first memory at the bottom of the stairs looking up, the smell of baby formula in the stale, tawny, afternoon air. The colors were green-brown-grey.

The dream I had when I was three where I am traveling down the road on a push scooter and my scooter drifts into the chaos of wild trees next to the road and I am consumed by the earth to land startled and alert, scanning the room with my eyes, back in bed in that haunted house that smelled like earth and ghosts.

The dream I had a little older when I went into my brother�s (twin) room to see that his leg was amputated at the knee and wasn�t healing well. I went upstairs to alert my mom and she seemed passive, dismissive. I walked back down the stairs in despair and looked out the front door to see that the house was floating in space.

All something to do with being grounded.

We talked about my role as the peace keeper in the family. Keeping under the radar. The role of keeping the peace at the expense of letting my own needs be known.

We talked about Celeste�s eating disorder. My role at being a caretaker that began waaay back when. This is going to be good. I�m glad.

Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]