previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

There can't be anything more delightful than a class full of Korean kids singing John Denver. "Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy..." Land, I was laughing out loud trying to play the guitar and sing and love them all at the same time.

Saw a mountain and a fortress and a steep, stepped trail through tall, twisty trees and Buddhist chimes today.

Watched as culture shock started to melt. Watched as I knew then I'd miss that trail. Those smells. Those little people. The old ones hunched over or on their haunches, bent from a lifetime of picking. Walking museum style, with their hands always tucked behind their backs.

I sat on a bench at the fortress and felt the first sun on my face and hopefully let it burn. For the first time, let it burn, Celeste. You're always so damn protected, girl. Always got the sunscreen in hand. Always ready to cover or run under cover or just go inside. Not this time. I'm going to keep feeling it. And not be afraid of it. Going to keep letting it in.

I'm only a little bit afraid. This world is wide and big and different, but I can embrace it. --slowly--

Slowly. I'm not saying I can take it all in at once.

Just slowly. Like a step at a time up that steep hillside.

Sunshine on my shoulders [2002-10-22]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]