previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

i just met with a doc. of sorts who actually took me seriously, empathized, respected what i'm going through, and told me he'd do the best he could to help me. this was after my naturopath essentially throwing up his hands yesterday. which i was glad about, 'cause i've already realized that he was frustrated and inexperienced at working with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and criticizing me in the process--the way i'm handling this. well, mister, i'm handling this as well as i can. and that's good enough for me. sure, i sometimes need to balance it out and let it go and just relax and smile (which i do). but for the most part, my questions/concerns/research/suggestions are coming from a place of great hope/desire to be well again. i'm sticking up for myself. i'm speaking out for myself. and that can't be bad. besides, i've spent way too long grooming a great deal of compassion and respect for myself to let a little frustrated naturopath throw me off-course. So i'm glad he admitted he can't do anything else for me (though it embarrasses him to no end). He ended the conversation by suggesting lyme disease, which my heart instantly laughed at. Yes, i've had ticks in my life (being a brush/grass/tree lover), but i was sick before and after those. This started with respiratory infections in Korea taking hold of an already compromised gut ecosystem and immune system.

There are answers. I know it. Now I will simply find them without the baggage of somebody constantly second-guessing my experience and my instincts. I really like this new guy. He said he thinks I have a parasite, viral, and staph infection, and no wonder i feel like crap all the time.

Thank you, sir. I will be running/rollerblading/yoga-ing soon. I can feel it.
Yay.

abyss
she asked me, point-blank: when will you just LET GO?

damn. i can't imagine anything more frightening than to let go of the old and last-holdout comfort of fear. just thinking about possibly doing it sends me shaking and crying. it is, for me, standing on the edge, only darkness ahead. it is giving up all reason, logic, and habit. it is letting go of the fact i've felt ill for 4 years and haven't been able to work for 2. it is trusting that i am loved and cared for in ways i cannot comprehend with my mind. it is having faith in myself and my own process. it is believing in my bones that i will be well and whole soon. it is knowing that i have been led this way for very good reason, and "just like a flower in spring, love will rise again to heal your wings" (Mission UK). it is actively seeking health and wellness, and yet, on the deepest level, submitting to each moment. submitting to the quiet that has been given me, the rest that has been forced upon me. submitting to the process. submitting to the divine in me and the divine around me. knowing that SHE will be well-taken care of. knowing that i will not die from the act of easing into my softness, letting the warriors inside me take their ease, being very muscle-weary and tired from having protected me for so long from what felt like my very demise, my loss of self.

this is MY path.

and though i see it unfolding with such wonder, it remains a mystery to me. and i remain forever grateful to my teachers and guides. those with sight clearer than my own. those who've walked their own shadow lands, emerged from their own hall of mirrors.

thank you
peter. sunny. jaisri. uli. erin. laura. scott moore. gungi. d'ana. Moon Jinsoon. Yogini. Moon K'Young. david whyte. and on and on.

namaste celeste. yes, you too are teacher. bless you, sweet one.
i just went on a walk of PURE BLISS.

Just last week it snowed a foot.

Today, after a fresh, cold, newly spring morning rain, the clouds parted and emptied out sunshine onto this gorgeous place. The naked, dark trees were ragged and reaching against a blue and gray and white sky. The rolling clouds lifted slowly to reveal a jagged and perfectly bold range of mountains underneath. I kept my face heavenward and could not open my lungs wide enough to receive the freshness and newness that the air was seeping. I walked full speed, with many stops for sky-gazing, my mouth agape and a grin in my heart. I savored my gratitude for the energy to walk, the feeling of uprightness in my body, the sense of fluid motion in my legs, and the lack of fever and tension in my muscles and neck.

Something must be working. Thyroid? DHEA? Probiotics? Vitamin/Mineral pushes? Enzymes? Or they're all working, together. I don't care anymore. My life is not a science experiment. It is a revelation of gratitude.

Either way, a rebirth is happening.
THANK YOU FOR SPRING.

celeste

I musta been a plant at some point
i need lots of water. lots of sunshine. lots of fresh air. lots of silence. i grow best with good music playing and gentle words spoken. my stock is tall and strong and full of greens. i bloom in many many colors, both bright and soft: "sometimes gentle and sometimes wild" (tuck and patty). my flowers are big and flashy or petit and delicate, depending on my mood and the season. i grow dormant and introspective in the winter, storing energy, building from the inside out. i sing a near-silent song to myself in the cold, clear nights, when only the stars are heeding, and i sip up the blackness of the sky and the whiteness of the snow for my brew's mix of colors. i come most alive in the spring, like a river released from its dam. and i love it when the hummingbirds come play with me in the summertime, and i at last have no fear of a chill. when autumn returns, i sigh with relief from the heat's respite, and i swish myself around in the cool, fresh air. i grow about anywhere, but mostly in the wild, in the mountains, deserts, and by rivers and oceans. i've evolved to lather myself with a sturdy coating, made mostly of piss and vinegar, to keep out critters that want to gnaw at or poison me. i have deep, clinging roots in the rich earth, but i have long and lean, wandering vines so i can explore every surface and vista. This plant is delicate, yes. You can see all her conditions for vibrancy. But she is also determined to live well and willing to evolve. If she can't find what she needs, she'll learn to manufacture it herself. Darwin would'a loved her.
The Latest.
The Latest...

Scott and I bought a house in Salt Lake City, and it's a miracle, really, that it all came together, as we chose the WRONG time in salt lake to be BUYERs. it's a cottage, really, from the '30s. It has dark wood floors with the old silver nails and arched doorways. We painted it, much to brothers' and dad's chagrin (as they were helping us), many beautiful but subtle colors. No taupe walls and white baseboards for us, baby. We love it. Our artist-friend (real artist, not just artistic like some of us claim to be!) helped us pick out colors--i knew i needed help after I started to pick out colors for the yoga studio years ago, and our interior designer said every color i chose looked like baby vomit. oh well. so much for great shades of green.
...

I've been unwell, but that is all changing, and I'm working with a lot of healers and such to get my health and strength back. It's an amazing process, but I'll be glad to be looking at it in the rearview mirror, if you know what i mean. But it's been also more than I bargained for in healing and joy, too, for each process of hurt and suffering holds the opportunity to heal all the sufferings of a lifetime. (Stephen Levine paraphrase.) I'm recovering from a lot of stuff that choked my heart and my breath, in many ways, and I'll be forever grateful for this time to heal. And though it definitely can cause problems, I am grateful, too, for my obstinate, determined will, as I don't think I could've made it through this otherwise.

...
I shaved my head this summer after the car accident and health problems. It felt more honest. More real. Less work. Less heavy. And I loved it and would've kept it to this day if my world weren't covered in snow and my head needing hair to keep it warm. It's kind of pixie-length now, and it grew in a lot darker. I really can't say I'm a blonde anymore, esp. since my sister did her older sister duty by suggesting I dye my hair auburn or get a face piercing. I opted for the hair dye. As soon as I get a camera working, I'll post a photo.

...
Scott Moore is being an angel of mercy and love and somehow working his butt off, too, to pay our mortgage and hospital bills and the like. He is well-loved here in SLC as a yoga teacher, and we are both grateful for this fascinating and wondrous opportunity for him to be loving and serving people in this way. We can't wait 'til we can teach together as a team again. "We have a piper down!"

...
Last, we're hoping to get me strong enough to go to Europe with my parents this summer, for a month at least.

...
Enjoying the white sky and trees and earth today. This really is an exotic climate here in Utah, if you actually get out of your car and look up.
poor me
ugh. up all night. literally. throbbing headache that's been there since december. just about to lose it. luckily, i had an appointment for dr. morgan today. i cried when he squeezed my hand and told me i'd get better. i couldn't help myself. i nodded, the best i can do, as the tears fell. he was so loving, compassionate, and optimistic. so unlike my other doctor. i just might make it through this. but at 5 am with no sleep, and after 4 years of this madness, it starts to feel impossible. but it's not. i believe that. esp. in the light of day. (notice: i can hardly stay pessimistic for long--is that a curse?)

heavenly day
today is my birthday, of sorts--a heavenly day. the clouds parting to reveal such gifts and grace from the past year. sorrow may come back tomorrow, but for now, the smile on your face, celeste, is enough. this beating heart is enough. this breath is enough.
i didn't die or lose my ability to walk a year ago today. i received and felt compassion and generosity and love like i never thought possible. i watched my brilliant and forgiving body heal from major trauma. scott's hands on me quieted my hurt and my racing heart. the music on my ipod soothed and comforted me as i moved in and out of consciousness.
i was knocked unconscious. i had gone to a green land, crossing a tall, green field, on a cliff overlooking the ocean waves. i beckoned for scott, basking in the sunshine. he reached his hand out for mine. and it was then and there i must've decided to come back. this was not my time to go.
i was instead on a stretcher, scott nowhere in sight. but peter's voice calmed me as he insisted he'd find scott and go with me in the ambulance to the hospital. then i heard erin's voice tell me to focus on my heartbeat and breath. which i did. and it grounded me down and kept me safe and sane.
i'm so grateful today for my life. every day is a birthday. every day is a gift. every day is a scrooge's christmas morning. thank you to scott and my parents and family. thank you to all my friends. thank you to the yoga community in salt lake city. may we all enjoy our breaths, bodies, smiles, sunshiney skies, and hearts on this heavenly day.
celeste

jan 15 2007 to april 15 2007 [2007-04-14]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]