previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

It's been a week since Celeste split for the US. She sounded great today on the phone. I'm a bit lonely but feel much better having spoken to Celeste earlier today.

It's four o' clock in the afternoon yet I'm sitting in the dark, in a PC bong, my gaze fixed on the glow of my monitor. I'm sandwiched between two weekend gamers, both blowing smoke rings from their Dirt (copyright) brand cigarettes, and spitting into their ash trays. I can taste the dry smoke as it lazily wafts across my face.

Herbie Hancock pounds out an homage to Kurt Kobain in my ears, All Apologies. Just piano and bass. His notes are sweet and crisp with no effects or surprises, other than the fact that Herbie Hancock is playing a Nirvana tune. But that isn't too surprising, either. He plays the simple structure of the song and unapologetically embellishes it with turns, blue notes, and the absence of notes where originally they were crucial.

Despite my sore throat, I forced myself out of my apartment and walked to THE mom n' pops, with the hagimas who love us to death. They noticed that I wasn't with Celeste and asked about her. I told them that she'd gone back to America and that I'd follow in a few weeks.

I savored the warm, soft rice and crisp, fresh vegetables of my bi bim bap. Then I put extra go choo jong on it to make it come alive. Their kimchi is sort of ghetto but every kimchi is a signature and to indulge in the experience, I ate almost all of it.

Such a nice day. It would be a crime to sit inside a PC bong and waste it, so I decide to go to a park and jot down ideas for a yoga studio downtown SLC. Ideas are spilling out on my notebook and I can't help but watch the teen-age couple performing the intricate dace of their insecure relationship: walk away mad, make up five minutes later, walk away mad again, talk but don't look, hold hands, ignore, stare into each other's eyes. More walking away, more mad.

Finally, I resign myself to the PC bong and gamer world so that I can get some time writing and reading the site.

Four O' Clock in the Afternoon--Scottro [2003-05-11]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]