previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

"Everybody, please fasten your seatbelts." Tap tap. "Is this thing on?" Yes? Good. 'Cause I got somethin' to say:

"Phersty Flight 111 is moving in for an emergency landing." The panel has been flashing "auto pilot" with one giant red button for long enough now. I'm tired of waiting for this bird to take me where I need to go. I'm taking over the controls. And for my first action as pilot of this operation, we're going to be landing soon. We must refuel now and then. And this cabin crew needs some fresh air, silence, and sunburn.

"Well, no, I really don't know how to do this. I mean, I've seen it done, sure. But I'm a good listener and learner, and I got my sweaty hands on this wheel and a wild smile of freedom on this face, and they're not going anywhere. Besides, I have my headgear on and am in contact with traffic control.

"Traffic control. This is Phersty Flight 111. I'm bringing this baby down. Show me how."

Yeah, that's right. This flight is mine.

It's Time to Land [2003-04-09]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]