previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

". . . and I'd like to thank the academy and my veterinarian, and my accountant and my . . ."

Really, I'm just happy to be here today. No real reason why. Just happy to be here. Happy for another day to breathe and feel. I was walking here to the PC lab after eating at our "mom n' pop's" joint, just touching things (I don't know if you know this about me, but I'm a texture person--very tactile, you see). I imagined that I was Cassiel, the angel, given one day to come and experience earth with a body, and I was filled with the the insatiable desire to touch it all, to experience it. I touched a truck parked on the sidewalk (anywhere is free game in this country. They give you a license to drive and that doubles as a U-pass, the "unlimited, do whatever you want. After all, you're the one with the car" pass) and felt the cold metal. I touched a nylon flag hanging on a pole as it flirted with the wind. I felt the trunk of a tree. And the next one, and the next . . .

". . .and I'd like to thank my seventh grade science teacher Mr. Robertson . . ."

And after I touched everything I could get my hands on, I rubbed my fingers together. which were by now quite dirty, and thought about the fact that this world is covered in dirt. Indeed we are made of the dust. I had the raw matter of life on my hands. Normally, I'd be very anxious to wash it off, but not today. Today I'm part of it.

" . . . and I'd like to thank . . ."

Dust to Dust--Scottro [2003-04-09]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]