previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

Before there was high-tech, there had to be low-tech. Before coming to korea, I sold my 1989 Pontiac Bonneville. In it I would sail down the street with my V6 engine, seating enough for twenty, be it a little tight. I had all the whistles and bells at my fingertips. I had (or should I say the generations of previous owners before me had) power steering, power seats, power windows, power mirrors. But by the time the whale of a car came to me, the seats only moved backward so if you wanted to move your seat closer to the pedals you had to wear platform shoes or grow the remaining distance. The windows sort of worked but you had to plan to begin rolling them up about a minute or two before you planned on stopping the car. Also, the passenger side window shrieked like and angry banshee in pain as you rolled it up, not always a good sign. Only the right mirror worked and that was painfully slow.

It was very refreshing the day that I sold that car and bought, "Jack," our newer yet scaled down car. It was refreshingly low-tech. The only power to this car (including the engine on cold days) came from me burning calories to do it. I sighed with relief realizing that Jack had no power seats to go out and no banshees to piss off. I just pooped around town with no pretenses. I no longer had to dubiously pretend that I was a posh ride. The journey was the same.

Last week we were at lunch with Yoga Master. Ms. Moon, a Korean English teacher at our school, graciously took us on a tour tous to her sacred places: yoga and lunch at the Green World, knowing that they would be sacred to us too. She invited HER power people to lunch to talk with us, to share with us. Touching. One of her power people is Yoga Master. He In talking with Yoga Master (I don't know his name or if he has one whether he just goes by yoga master at home anyway, like Yoda--he ditched the "Jones" once he got his light saber) he said that the world thinks it has evolved with notions of high-tech. He said this to us as he sat chomping his food wearing his simple shirt that uses knots for buttons, loose, draw-string pants, and shaved head. He cited humankind's visit to outer space. He happily commented on the fact that through meditation and yoga, people have been visiting other worlds and the moon for thousands of years before the high-tech methods of science. Before there was high-tech, there was low-tech. The journey is the same.

Low-Tech--Scottro [2002-11-05]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]