previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

"I love winter," I said, and caught myself. With a smile, almost smirk, I recalled my determination last year to avoid at all costs another winter. My declaration that my home was to be on the islands, and no place else.

But wow. No. Now, I really do love winter. Scott says it's my bright red coat that he bought me this year at the first nip in the air. Extremely warm, but cute, too. Finding one was a feat. He's very proud of himself. Perhaps it's the coat.

But I think it's moreover my contentedness at living at a Level 4, as I like to call it. Scott calls it Energy Conservation. Long, slow lunches, walks, talks, meditations, and rests. This has become my time of dreamy eyes watching the sky, and empty, unformed thoughts.

The winter itself encourages me towards my Level 4.

Its snow and skies and landscape and colors soothe me and lull me to rest when I'm indoors. And when I'm out, I am full of bright, fresh wind--a moving energy that makes me take sharp, happy breaths that wipe me clean, and yet there's a solitude and a quiet for me to exhale in. For the long sigh and snuggle after the cheeks have been suffiently rosied, and the lungs sufficiently shocked.

Still, I know, too, that my peace and quiet can be so absorbing for now because it won't always have to be. I know there will be a spring. I no longer wish to live at the Level I used to live, but I do deliberately walk today in a way that I hope creates a Level 6. For spring. I am not without hope and intention.

Despite my love of winter.

Level 4 Winter, ck [2005-01-10]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]