previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

The western U.S. has its glories, and I'm going to go throw myself on one of my personal favorites today: Arches. Imagine red dirt, wilderness, sage and juniper, glorious tall arches carved out by wind and water and time. Imagine a happy barley head bobbing around. Imagine white long toes scratching into the sand. Imagine bright blue skies and dusty sienna earth. Imagine a soul that is as calm, open, and wide as the desert floor itself.

I have to say, though, one of the hardest transitions for me here is CARS. I really do hate them. I hate driving them. I hate needing them to get places. I hate fueling them. I hate caring for them. They are ugly burdens for me.

EXCEPT on days like today, when their only usefulness comes into plain view: roadtrips. For cities, we should all walk and bike and bus (if they only had such things here). But for the wild, that's when I welcome cars. Only 'cause they can get me there. And then comes the even better part--once there, I can get out of them and back onto my legs.

back onto my legs, ck [2003-05-20]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]