previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

A day of good-byes following a week of the same. First Kouksundo and yogini master. She gave Jinsoon a letter to translate for me. (pause... This is serious--the most peaceful, beautiful woman on the planet wrote me a letter--I'm going to laminate it.)

Then Green World and Moon and Sun and the yellow room and the piano music and the smiles and bright eyes. Flowers and plants and a beautiful meal. Sun-hee said there is no sadness--no you or me or life or death--we're all the same and we're all together. As I walked out, crying, Moon-young said they'd always be with me in the Moon and the Sun. I laughed and cried. Wise, beautiful women who speak with their hearts and their eyes while I fumble for words and for tears.

And then Scott and I on the front steps of the school, playing our instruments together one last time for some students and teachers. Saying farewell in our own way with a lot of love--just the same way we came and said Hello. With our hearts.

And then sweet students. Students with presents and tears, dragging me off to buy me a meal of bi bim bap and green tea/red bean Korean ice cream afterwards. Students that could feel my love and will miss me, despite my fatigue and illness here. They could still feel my love, and that's what touched them. Even though I had felt I had little to give them.

All reminding me that if you live with heart wide open, it may feel a little breezy sometimes, even uncomfortable. And you may want to put on a jacket. But you'll always be warmed in the end. Love returns love. If you live wide open and honestly, people can feel that. People respond.

And life is too short not to live that way. Every person and crossing a treasure. A gift to be celebrated.

Gifts, ck [2003-06-02]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]