previous letter other letters leave a note next letter

It's been raining here.

I can't believe that five months have gone by since Stephen drove us from the Seoul airport to the concrete gothic metropolis called Daejeon. I can't believe it because today it seems like it's been a lot longer than five months. It seems like five years.

There's something to be said about always keeping a stiff upper lip, but today, I'm keeping said lip decidely limp. Sniveling, really. Korea IS amazing, but today I want to whine.

I miss being able to talk to people at the store in a language that we both understand. I miss the relative cleanliness of Utah. I miss my jo beverage at Juice and Java.

I must admit, it is charming (in that martyrish sort of way) to suffer with THE crappiest television as it desecrates Robert Redford movies, by fading the sound in and out. (Is it still considered a color television if it only has one color?) We are trying to become strong here; we're familiarizing ourselves with the zen practice of nonattachment. But I'll be honest: it's really easy not to be attached to things when those things aren't worth being attached to.

Snivel, snivel.

Decidedly Limp--Scottro [2003-05-14]
<< previous | next >>


Navigation

newest letter | older letters
leave us a note | send us an e-mail
thanks, diaryland


Last five letters

Gathering [2009-09-04]
Roll With It, Baby--Scottro [2008-03-17]
Hog's Day [2008-03-09]
Getting Grounded with Terry [2008-02-14]
Sharron [2008-02-13]